top of page
IMG_3474.JPG

HELLO, GRADE 2

 Mrs. Hertel's Grade 2 class, Shutesbury Elementary

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog Feed
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureKatie Hertel

Welcome!

Grade 2 Students and Families,

Summer is flying by! Before you know it, it will be the first day of school! I am very excited to begin the school year as the new Grade 2 teacher at Shutesbury Elementary School! I would like to tell you a little bit about me so you will have a little bit of an idea of what to expect. I have been a teacher for eight years in Virginia, Washington, D.C., and Connecticut, and I have taught students in Kindergarten, first grade, second grade, AND third grade! (Though, out of all those grades, I think Grade 2 is my favorite.) I live in Amherst now with my family, and I have two kids of my own who are 1 and 3 years old (one of them will be in preschool at SES this year!). Some things that I like to do are yoga, riding my bike, cooking, walking in the woods, and of course, reading. I have spent the summer hanging out with my family, swimming at the beach, picking vegetables from the farm, but mostly, I have been preparing to teach second grade!

Looking forward to meeting you!

Mrs. Hertel

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Oct. 2

Dear Grade 2 Families, Happy October! It really feels like fall lately, which I am very excited about. It's fun to finally wear some sweaters. Here is a little bit about what has been happening in our

Sept. 21

Dear Grade 2 Families,Things are moving right along in second grade. Students are getting accustomed to our classroom and are starting to remember the many steps of the morning routine and the packing

bottom of page